Our History

The Weslaco Museum began as and remains a community project. During the late 1960s, civic leaders requested that various clubs and businesses gather family histories and artifacts to help the City of Weslaco celebrate its 50th Anniversary. This collection provided a historical resource for the publication of a book about Weslaco's early years and stimulated the leaders of several organizations to find a long-term home for the artifacts. In 1971, the Museum received its state charter as a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.  From a private residence to the public library building, and onward to its current home on Weslaco's main street, the Museum has enlarged its collection and increased its activities through the intervening decades.

President                                                Secretary                                         Members
Vicki Payne Rainwater                            Roxie Lehman                                   Adrian Cantú

                                                                                                                          Sulema Cuellar

Vice President                                       Co-Parlimentarians                         Diana Fuentes Aguilar

Sandi Sparrow                                        Jeff Walker                                        Daniel McInnis

                                                                Rosalinda Yañez                               Belda Villalon


Sheila Shidler                                                                                                   Executive Director

                                                                                                                         Sara Walker

The Weslaco Museum

Board of Directors

The Guild

The Weslaco Museum

President                                                Secretary                                         Members
Rosalinda Yañez                                     Ashley Miller                                      Raul Arredondo, Jr.                    San Juanita Prado 

                                                                                                                          Amparo Cardenas                      Maria Puga

Vice President                                        Parlimentarian                                 Minvera De Leon                       Alicia Ramirez 

Mary Mattar                                             Polly Lovell                                        Sarah Donalson                         Mary Reyna 

                                                                                                                          Elizabeth Hinojosa                     Anita Rodriguez

Treasurer                                                                                                          Desi Jones                                Sandi Sparrow

José Puga                                                                                                         Richard Lehman                        Thelda Tanner

                                                                                                                          Roxie Lehman                           Francis Tovar